Lion King extends Playhouse Run

September 9, 2019 | By | Reply More

Adds seven weeks & 49 perfs.

The Lion King has added an extra seven weeks to its stay at the Edinburgh Playhouse due to exceptional demand and will now run from Thursday 5 December 2019 until Sunday 29 March 2020.

Tickets for the 49 new performances, from Tuesday 11 February through to 29 March, will go on general sale through the Playhouse website (here) from this Thursday, 12 September 2019, from 10am.

Disney’s The Lion King Pic: Disney

The show will be playing seven performances a week: Tuesday to Saturday at 7.30, with matinees on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday at 2.30pm.

Colin Marr, the Playhouse’s theatre director, said: “We have seen exceptional demand for Disney’s The Lion King’s return to the Playhouse. From Edinburgh locals to across Scotland from the borders to Shetland islands.

“We have seen bookings from across the globe – from the Netherlands, United Arab Emirates to Australia and South Korea. We can’t wait to welcome even more audiences to this phenomenal show and to our incredible city.”

Casting for the production, which opened its UK tour at the Bristol Hippodrome on Saturday September 7, includes American actor Dashaun Young as Simba, the young lion who is first in line to be king of the Pridelands and and South African actresses Josslynn Hlenti as his friend Nala the Lioness. The mandril Rafiki, will be played by Thandazile Soni.

The seventeen week run smashes the show’s previous record-breaking 15 week season in 2013

Listings

The Lion King
Edinburgh Playhouse, 18 – 22 Greenside Place, EH1 3AA
Thurs 5 Dec 2019 – Sun 29 March 2020.
Evenings Tue – Sat: 7.30pm; Matinees Weds Sat, Sun: 2.30pm.
Tickets and details: Book here.
(Tickets for dates: Tue 11 Feb – Sun 29 Mar 2020 on sale from 10am, Thurs 12 Sept 2019)

Christmas/New Year times:
Mat Fri 20 Dec: 2.30pm.
Tue 24 Dec: 2.30pm (no evening perf)
No perfs Wed 25, Tue 31 Dec, Wed 1 Jan.
Mon 30: 2.30pm, 7.30pm.
Extra matinees: Thurs 2, Fri 3 Jan.
Sun 26 Jan: Relaxed performance at 1.30pm.

ENDS

Tags: , , , ,

Your comments