Phantom at the Festival

June 27, 2019 | By | Reply More

UK Tour plays Festival Theatre in 2020

The Phantom of the Opera has announced a major UK and Ireland tour for 2020 which will play Edinburgh’s Festival Theatre for six weeks in September and October.

The tour will arrive at the Festival Theatre on Wednesday 23 September, almost eight years to the day since Andrew Lloyd Weber’s phenomenally successful show was last in town. It will play through to October 31. Tickets go on public sale on Monday 30 September 2019.

The Phantom of the Opera, London, 2017, Pic: Johan Persson

The tour sets out from the Curve, Leicester in February, visiting the Palace Manchester for April and May, Bord Gais in Dublin in June and July, the Birmingham Hippodrome in August and the Festival Theatre from Wednesday 23 September to Saturday 31 October 2020.

The Phantom of the Opera tells the tale of a disfigured musical genius known only as ‘The Phantom’ who haunts the depths of the Paris Opera House. Mesmerised by the talents and beauty of a young soprano, Christine, the Phantom lures her as his protégé and falls fiercely in love with her.

He is unaware of Christine’s love for Raoul, however. And the Phantom’s obsession sets the scene for a dramatic turn of events where jealousy, madness and passions collide.

Andrew Lloyd Webber’s romantic, haunting and soaring score includes Music of the Night, All I Ask of You, Masquerade and the iconic title song.

Ticket on sale dates

Early tickets for the Edinburgh dates go on sale to Friends on Monday 26 August 2019. Details of how to join the theatre’s friends scheme are here: Join the Friends. Tickets for groups will be on sale from Monday 9 September and on General Sale from Monday 30 September 2019.

Phantom has music by Andrew Lloyd Webber with lyrics by Charles Hart, and additional lyrics by Richard Stilgoe. The book is by Richard Stilgoe and Andrew Lloyd Webber. It is based on the novel Le Fantôme de l’Opera by Gaston Leroux, with Orchestrations by David Cullen and Andrew Lloyd Webber. It is produced by Cameron Mackintosh and The Really Useful Group Ltd.

Casting and further venues are to be announced at a later date.

Listing

The Phantom of the Opera
Festival Theatre, 13/29 Nicolson Street EH8 9FT. Phone booking: 0131 529 6000.
Wednesday 23 September – Saturday 31 October 2020
Evenings: 7.30pm, Matinees Thu & Sat 2.30pm, Sun 2pm (Not Sun 1 Nov), Wed 28 Oct 2.30pm.
Click here to join the Friends of Festival Theatre and book tickets from Monday August 26.
Tickets and details: Book here.

The OCR is available on Amazon. Click image for details.

The Phantom of the Opera on tour 2020:
Mon 24 Feb – Sat 21 March 2020 Leicester
Curve Theatre
01162 423 595 Book here
Thurs 26 March – Sat 30 May 2020 Manchester
Palace Theatre
0844 871 3019 Book here
Wed 10 June – Sat 18 July 2020 Dublin
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
0818 719 377 Book here
Wed 29 July – Sat 12 Sept 2020 Birmingham
Hippodrome
0844 338 5000 Book here
Wed 23 Sept – Sat 31 Oct 2020 Edinburgh
Festival Theatre
0131 529 6000 Book here

ENDS

Tags: , , , ,

Your comments